44 is 4 for 4… Which is Better than 18 for 18.

HeartburnEngineEarlier this year we got a sneak preview of John Axford, the long dog from Milwaukee who claimed the spot previously occupied by the one whose name will not be spoken. After studying the competition, the Ax managed to pick 18 of 18 Oscar winners… not too shabby.

But this afternoon, #44 picked up his fourth of four save opportunities, which is infinitely more impressive in my book.  And while much of the credit for the early afternoon win should go to Zach McAllister and the Bop Brothers (Nick and Jason), I think I’d like to tip my baseball cap to John Axford, who Christian referred to – by way of Ireland – as a heartburn engine.

I like that… I am pretty sure I will be using that.  But not yet.

5 down, 89 to go. My head is already spinning.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

