Separated at Birth?

BurbaI was watching this STO special the other day, or maybe it is just filler.  Anyway, Bob DiBiasio was interviewing Dave Burba and I kept looking at Burba and asking myself: Who does this guy remind me of?

And then it hit me:   Neumann!

And yeah, if you look at them closely, they do kind of look alike.  And I think they are about the same age (Seriously, Neumann is way older!). But that’s not it. At the end of the day, I think it is more about their careers.

Like Neumann, Burba played on eight teams over a 15-year career (I am counting Cleveland and San Fran twice); talk about not letting the grass grow under your feet.  And Like Neumann, Burba is a winner:  His record was 115-87, with 1,398 strikeouts.  Unfortunately, they both gave up a lot of hits (4.49 ERA)! And then there is the infamous Dave Burba philosophy:  If you don’t have it, fake it.  I am pretty sure that sentiment fits Neumann to a T.

22 down, 68 to go.  Faking it all the way to the World Series!

P.S. I love Dave and Tom equally.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Separated at Birth?”

  1. Gordie Howe Says:

    Thanks Jim. I’ll take a comparison to Dave Burba any day of the week! (and I’m only a little older!!!)

Leave a Reply

