There is Joy in Mudville!

What makes for a great baseball team?  What makes for great fans? Good questions.

Yesterday  morning (I’m talking 7:00 a.m.), I received my first text from my niece, Kacie, reminding me that her game was at 4:30 p.m., and hoping that I could come.

She asked me because she knows I love her and I love baseball… even girls fast pitch softball. Kacie is, by her own admission, awesome. And Kacie’s 8th & 7th grade Fairview Park team did not disappoint.

In her first at-bat in the first inning of the game, Kacie knocked in a run and later rounded the bases to score. By the end of the second inning they were leading by a dozen runs.  It was pure fun, not just for the spectators, but the players as well.

There are no words to effectively describe the awesome feeling of swinging away at a fat pitch with two out and a runner on third… nor to explain the rush of catching a well-placed liner on a dead run to end a potentially dangerous inning.

Baseball rocks.  And you either get it or you don’t.  The 2011 Cleveland Indians get it; they are enjoying every minute of this season.  And I believe the fans are starting to get it as well. Anyway, I hope they are.  After all, the outlook is brilliant for Mudville, and it would be a shame to miss it.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

